High School… So Far

If I had to describe my freshman year at EHS , I would say it has been purely a learning experience. From school to sports, I have begun to find myself as a student, athlete and overall my own person. So let’s start out with school… I have always done decent in school, but now in high school, I have begun to step it up. In middle school, I was a B+ average student, but now in high school, I have taken challenging classes and proud to say I have a 4.0! At the end of my 8th-grade year, I realized that I need to work 110% all the time if I want a bright future. I would say it was a coming of age.

Sports are a huge part of my life, and I would say are one of the biggest contributors to who I am today. I am a big-time perfectionist and I always strive to be the best at everything. You could say that I am pretty competitive. I decided to play golf for the first time ever this year, which was new for me in a few different ways. 1. I have never played before and 2. I am not the type to try new things, I like to stick to things I am good at. I started my golf season on C team, which I was fine with in the beginning but after a few weeks, I was ready for more. I stayed after practice every day and worked on whatever I was having issues with, and my hard work ended up paying off. By the end of the season, I was in JV qualifiers, I then got to qualify for districts at Gold Mountain and I even made it to the second day of districts! What I learned from golf was that I need to work hard for everything and to keep pushing myself to be the best I can be. I also had some completely amazing teammates, to say the least, they are the people that got me through the season, made me better and made it all a blast! I can already say that the Enumclaw Golf Team has been a life altering experience, I cannot wait to see what the next three years bring!

0901161312
EHS Girls Golf Team!

Next is basketball,  My absolute passion since day one! I have always loved basketball so much, I have been playing since kindergarten. I have always worked really hard in basketball, but it has always come somewhat easy to me also. This year was different… I made JV and I was told It was time for me to begin playing a wing position rather than post position (I am 5’8″, which is too short for a post). I knew it was time for me to learn the wing position better, it will benefit me more in the future. One of my biggest dreams is to play basketball in college … it is a big dream but I am willing to work as hard as possible to get myself there. If I want to play in college, I will be definitely playing a guard or wing position, so the earlier I work on my skills(ball handling and shooting) the better I will be. I am even taking basketball training and planning to get on another team outside of school next season. But back to EHS basketball, it was a rough season for me and a lot of things did not go as I hoped for, it was still a fun season though. I cannot wait for the season to start again next year!  But at the end of it all, I learned that things are not always going to be easy and that if I want something, I need to work very hard to receive it. One of the best basketball players of all time, Micheal Jordan, did not even make his school’s varsity team until his Jr year. This just shows, everyone has struggles in life, but we need to figure out how to get through things and come out stronger.

d36dd08c344ae4600481c52552409ea2
Enumclaw Hornets

Overall, my freshman year has really been a good year. I am starting to know what I want to do in life, and how I will get there. I have begun to find some new interest this year as well (like psychology and behavioral analysis, more specifically forensic psychology). I have a huge interest in how the human brain works and what is going on in people’s heads…I love talking to people and helping through their problems as well. Behavioral analysis and forensics psychology tie together perfectly.  I am also intrigued by criminal behavior and why people are the who they are, and why they would do the things they do. Plus, I am very good at reading people, solving situations and figuring things out.  I plan on taking psychology classes in high school and going to a college that offers behavioral analysis (where I can play basketball or golf too). I am really starting to get a clear path of my interest and what I want to do in my future. Freshman year has taught me a lot!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. rangeday says:

    It looks like you’re doing great so far in your high school career, I hope you achieve your goals! I can also relate to your new found interest in psychology, it is such an interesting field! You sound very dedicated and I wish you the best of luck for your next three years!

    Like

  2. helmemat says:

    Amazing blog post Danyel! I enjoy how you effectively described everything your freshman year has taught you, and the experiences you have had so far. I also like how you included useful links in this article, including an explanation of what forensic psychology (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forensic_psychology) is. Keep on writing these blog posts!
    -Matt

    Like

Leave a Reply

